Unpopular Opinions Book Tag

BOOKTAG

If no one tagged me to do a tag but I still wanted to do it, is it still considered a ‘tag’? It is, if I’m tagging my friends, right?! 😛

This is the Unpopular Opinions Book Tag where, basically, I share rather different opinions on books compared to what readers usually think. I do not intend to offend anyone but I do, however, stand by my opinions.

Anyway, I promise to do this without spoiling anything!

1. A popular book or series you didn’t like.

Okay, The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer wasn’t that bad. I remember flying through it but it left me completely unsatisfied and uninterested to read the next two books. I mean, the ending?!?! That’s it?! I just don’t get the hype!

2. A popular book or series that everyone hates but you love.

18I don’t think everyone hates the Just One Day series but I don’t see it much on social media. It’s not very well-known compared to Gayle’s If I Stay duology, and I honestly think it deserves more attention. Maybe the publishers need to do something with the covers, lol!

3. A love triangle where the MC ends up with the person you didn’t want them to end up with.

Ugh, I absolutely hate how P.S. I Still Love You turned out! It made me so mad how such book could be “adored” by many! If you’ve read the book and didn’t like it or if you don’t mind being spoiled, please see my review which contains more angry emotions than I intend to.

4. A popular book genre you rarely reach for.

Non-fiction/Memoir, maybe? I don’t think it’s something I would be willing to read any time. But there are a few that I’m very interested in, like Malala’s and Connor Franta’s.

5. A popular beloved character you didn’t like.allegiant-tris-image

I’m probably getting hate for saying this and for being a heartless witch, but Tris wasn’t anything but generic to me. I thought she was too dependent on Four.

6. A popular author you can’t seem to get into.

Oh my god… this question… it came up…. it’s Tahereh Mafi. I saw Shatter Me for $4 once and bought it. I ended up selling it online for half the price without even reaching chapter 2. I was desperate! I was like, “Nope. No. GO AWAY. I don’t need you on my shelves. NOOOO.” I believe it took me THREE DAYS to get over the writing writing writing! Reading it was so exhausting. I’m never coming back.

7. Popular trope you’re tired of seeing.

Badly written love triangles are soooo yesterday, but not many authors would think so! I have no problems with love triangles that are well-written like in Me Before You, but the trope becomes a problem when the character turns into a turd and is hardly likable. I mean, if you’ve giving me a love triangle, make it difficult for me to decide! Don’t give me an angel and a devil and let me end up with the devil because you like bad boys. No. Just no.

1a8. Popular series you have no interest in reading.

I have nothing against my dear friends who love these series but I just don’t find them interesting. The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices. I know, I know, you can hate me now. I love Matthew Daddario and even that is not enough to make me watch the series. Whoops. (Those covers are to die for, though.)

9. The saying goes, “The book is always better than the movie,” but what movie do you prefer more than the book? 

Divergent and Insurgent were sooo much better than the books! I haven’t seen Allegiant but I heard it was traumatic, lol. I thought the movies were different yet more simple and made more sense. You gotta give it to Theo James, though. And Ansel Elgort. And Miles Teller, tbh. Even the villains are swoon-worthy. Dear lawd, this cast.


I’m tagging my friends and fellow bloggers bookfreakrevelations, readbynicka, fictionairesblog, bookishfanboy, and aliceinwonderbookland!

Do you agree (or disagree) with me? I’d love to know what you think!

Bloglovin’InstagramTwitterGoodreads

6 thoughts on “Unpopular Opinions Book Tag

  1. Curious why you found Shatter Me exhausting to read? Was it the number vomit or something (in chapter 1)? I thought maybe it had something to do with the character’s ‘powers’ — or was the author trying to impress? Hehe.

    Like

  2. I love the Just One Day series, I’m always disappointed that I don’t see it around more in the bookish community. I’m a huge fan of Gayle Forman, though. Can’t say I agree with some of your other opinions yet I could hardly stand Tris. I love the idea of the books but I can’t get over Tris and she is way too dependant of Four. Not to say she can’t have a boyfriend but I don’t like when characters are too dependant on their significant others.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

